Why I’m Not Giving Myself Grace

“Give yourself grace.”

I am currently in a season of life where I often find myself stressing out – stressing out over my schedule, over assignments, over deadlines, over decisions, over relationships. Several nights ago, not unlike other nights in this season of life, I was stressing out about one – or all – of the aforementioned issues when the saying, “give yourself grace,” came to mind.

The idea of giving yourself grace is an idea that I have always embraced. After all, we cannot expect to be perfect and put together all the time. And not only that, but we cannot expect others don’t give us grace, because often times they do not. So, obviously we have to give grace to ourselves!

I took this saying coming to mind as the Holy Spirit speaking to me, so I purposed in my heart to give myself grace and stop stressing out. Then, I laid down in my bed to sleep… and the Holy Spirit really began to speak to me.

“Allow Me to give you grace.”

Immediately, my eyes were opened to this: when I embrace the idea of giving myself grace, I settle for just that – my grace. And the grace that I have to give myself is nothing compared to the grace that God has to give me.

The grace that I have to give stems from an imperfect source – myself. The grace that I have to give is natural. The grace that I have to give is limited.

But the grace God has to give stems from a perfect source – Himself. The grace that God has to give is supernatural. The grace that God has to give is limitless.

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

 

Leave a Reply

